Holland Hurricanes

Hurricanes set to recognize student-athletes this Friday at annual Awards Gala

This Friday at the Culinary Institute of Canada, the Holland Hurricanes will recognize the ‘Canes student-athletes from the 2018-2019 seasons at their annual Awards Gala.

The event will begin with a reception at 6:15pm followed by the meal and awards gala at 7pm. The event is closed to the public, with live updates being posted on the Hurricanes Twitter throughout the evening.

Awards being presented include the male and female Athletes of the Year and Rookies of the Year plus the Coach of the Year. Individual team awards will also be handed out as will the Hurricanes Physiotherapy Award, Hurricanes Award, Leadership in Sport Award, Citizenship Award and President’s Award.

Today we will announce the nominees for the male and female Rookie of the Year awards. Check back later this week when we announce the finalists for our male and female Athletes of the Year awards.

Female Rookie of the Year

Abby Hyndman (Volleyball)

Hyndman and the Hurricanes hosted the 2019 ACAA Championships, finishing with a silver medal. She was named the ACAA Rookie of the Year, plus to the ACAA’s second all-conference team. Hyndman led the ‘Canes in kills and service aces this season.

Kathrine McEwen (Soccer/Badminton)

McEwen and the Hurricanes finished the regular season with an 8-3-1 record, being eliminated from the ACAA playoffs in the semi-finals. She was named to the ACAA’s second all-conference team after leading the Hurricanes in goals and points. She also was a strong player for the Hurricanes badminton team in 2018-19.

Ashley Plaggenhoef (Basketball)

Plaggenhoef and the Hurricanes missed the playoffs by just four points in 2018-19, finishing the regular season with a record of 7-14. Plaggenhoef led the ‘Canes in three-point shooting percentage plus assists per game.

Jade Stewart (Soccer)

Stewart and the Hurricanes finished at 8-3-1 during the regular season, finishing third. They were eliminated from the ACAA playoffs in the semi-finals. Stewart was a member of the ACAA second all-conference team.

Katie Wood (Volleyball)

Wood and the Hurricanes took home an ACAA silver medal in 2018-19 while hosting in Charlottetown. She was named the ACAA Libero of the Year after leading the conference in digs per set.

Male Rookie of the Year

Ryan Francom (Cross Country Running)

While hosting the ACAA Cross Country Running Championships on home soil, Francom finished second as an individual and led the Hurricanes men’s team to a third-place finish. Francom was named to the ACAA all-conference team.

Jordan Holness (Basketball)

Holness and the Hurricanes went undefeated during the regular season before claiming the ACAA Championship. He was named to the second ACAA all-conference team while also being named the conference Rookie of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year. He led the ‘Canes in assists per games and steals.

Matthew-Uriah Kaye-Mitchell (Football)

Kaye-Mitchell was a starting receiver and punter for the Hurricanes in 2018, leading the team to the league championship game. He was named to the league all-star team while being named the AFL Rookie of the Year.

Shunya Kobayashi (Soccer)

Kobayashi led the ‘Canes to an ACAA Championship before hosting the CCAA National Championship. He was named to the first ACAA all-conference team, as well as being named the ACAA Player of the Year and a CCAA All-Canadian. Kobayashi led the ‘Canes in goals, assists, points and shots-on-goal.

Riley O’Keefe (Volleyball)

O’Keefe and the Hurricanes claimed the ACAA Championship on home court in Charlottetown before competing at the CCAA National Championships. O’Keefe was a starter for the ‘Canes and claimed player of the game honors at nationals.